Exceptional Drivers Recognized

I was honored to attend the 2013 Safe Driver Awards Breakfast at the Goochland American Legion Building. Like every parent, I want my children to get home safely from school every day. That’s first and foremost. Nothing is more important than the work our drivers do to support overall school safety and set the tone for the entire day in the life of every child that gets on a school bus.

We were treated to an exceptional breakfast, catered by Mrs. Landrum and her associates. Mr. Ron Haley was this year’s Driver of the Year, selected by both his peers and principal for the second time! Betty Jo Houston received the Driver’s Choice Award, a peer recognition.

And one highlight was a surprise visit by Goochland Elementary School 5th graders who sang the National Anthem in honor of our drivers and the forthcoming Memorial Day. We recognized our veterans from the Armed forces today as well:  drivers Richard Bibb, Linwood Burton, Ron Haley,  Roger Watkins and driver trainee Jessica DiPace.  Thank you for your service to our great nation!

I congratulate our transportation staff and drivers for a year of impeccable service to our students and families. I’m thankful to Mr. Payne and Mr. Hazzard for joining me this morning to celebrate the commitment our fleet provides. This was truly an inspirational way to begin this beautiful Thursday and I am privileged to have been a part of it!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *